Day 4: Made to Last Forever

Surely God would not have created such a being as man to exist for a day!  No, no, man was made for immortality.            –Abraham Lincoln

 This life is not all there is.   Your time on Earth is but a small parenthesis in eternity. –Sir Thomas Browne.   Many faiths believe this, teach this to us, but we tend to forget as we keep ourselves busy living in the now.  But are we truly living?

 Warren states when we fully comprehend that there’s more to life than just the now, & we realize that life is just preparation for eternity, we will begin to live differently.  “You will start living in light of eternity, and that will color how you will handle every relationship, task, & circumstance.”   Many activities which seemed so important will appear trivial.  Our values change, our priorities are reordered.  We will place a higher premium on relationships and character instead of fame, wealth, achievements, even fun. 

I like Warren’s analogy:  The 9 months we spent in our mother’s womb preparing for life is as this life is preparation for the next.  Measured against eternity, our time on earth is just a blink of an eye, but the consequences of it will last forever.  The deeds of this life are the destiny of the next.

 Most faiths believe this.  In Pandit Raimani Tigunait’s article about the Khajuraho temples, he looks at the interior temple wall of the sun god’s temple.  Worldly experiences is sculpted in the first level, what we must do to survive, both positive & negative issues, This is Life. In the 2nd level, Life is a celebration, a heavenly sport here on earth, perfection of aesthetic expression–how our life is when we are no longer in the grip of fear & doubt. Infused w/self appreciation & self respect we actively seek fulfillment. Partaking of the celebration of life, we become distracted, disoriented, & entangled, we forget the higher purpose & meaning of life. The rare among us enjoy the pleasures of the world without drowning in them because they remain everaware of the higher purpose and meaning of life.  http://media.himalayaninstitute.org/Newsletter/india/KhajurahoArticle.pdf

 Warren’s Question to Consider:  Since I was made to last forever, what is the one thing I should stop doing and the one thing I should start doing today?

Just as my sons are becoming adults, I feel I can again step into the work force.  This question makes me realize that my non profit work is valid even more today & I will continue focusing my energies in this direction.  At minimum, it should be setting example to my own family what needs to be an important priority in their lives as they begin standing on their own.

Before starting Day 5—Seeing Life from God’s View, I’d like you to go to the link below and do the Magic Mirror Exercise–seeing the world thru God’s eyes.

http://www.care2.com/greenliving/magic-mirror-exercise.html

This exercise is designed to give you a brief taste of big mind. While our normal mental state is to dwell in the relative small mind, it is possible to develop practices that briefly open the gates of big mind. Each time this happens, we get flashes of insight.  Let’s discuss it next time.

 * Weekly we will be writing about what inspires us from each consecutive chapter of Warren’s Purpose Driven Life.  If you read along with us, please share your inspirations.  There’s no need to catch up, just jump right in. 

 

 

About blueprintforliving

A born & bred New Yorker living on the other side of the Atlantic since '92. Once you live in a much smaller country you realise everything is precious,take nothing for granted,and you gain a global view which you would never have if you had stayed in the US.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 4: Made to Last Forever

  1. kareneleni says:

    Warren’s question as to what we should stop doing today I think is when we sweat the small stuff. We all do it, worry about traffic, what to make for dinner, how our hair looks, and on and on. Altho that is human nature I think we should strive to look beyond those small things, and give thanks for good health, family, and the things which bless our lives. I also believe the one thing we can all do each day is something nice for someone else. I had a wonderful experience several months ago at the airport. I was in line at Starbucks to buy a coffee and when I got ready to pay I heard a female voice say “I will get that”. I turned around stunned and say a female pilot who said “please I will get your coffee”. I was speechless and she said “now and then I like to do something nice for someone, and all I ask is that you say a prayer for me”. I thanked her and said “yes of course I will say a prayer”. I walked back to my gate still surprised but with a smile on my face. As I watched the crew board our flight before us, lo and behold was the pilot who bought me the coffee. And our flight was safe and wonderful. I try now and again to do similar small things for others, but need to strive to do it more often. Instead of worrying about the little things, just try and do something nice – it can be contagious and the more we do the more prayers go around in the world.

  2. Karen, I loved yr story! Its made me want to remember & do something nice for someone every day. Here’s Elena’s wonderful story: Notes Left Behind: Elena Desserich’s Amazing Gift.

    Though Elena Desserich died at the age of six, she left behind an amazing gift for her family: a series of hidden love notes.
    http://gimundo.com/news/article/notes-left-behind-elena-desserichs-amazing-gift/

  3. debbieh says:

    I loved both stories. Karen’s reminds me of the movie “Pay it Forward” A simple act of kindness towards one person can spread to another. But Karen is so correct how we get caught up in the small stuff.

    Loved the quote in ch. 4 about eternity and “enjoy unbroken fellowship with God” I would also relate this to our everyday life here and now and the fellowship is with people – all people. How do we show respect, tolerance and appreciation?

    If I answer the question in this chapter for me personally (on the dark side) – I would have to stop holding on to anger and resentment and start to forgive, let it go and move on.
    Ch. 3 said how we can become driven by resentment and anger and for me lately this has become my driving force. My demon is out of the closet now – can not change it until I own it, as Dr Phil would say.

    But if how we live our life now based on going to “eternity” then isn’t that a little selfish. Shouldn’t we be kind, considerate, honest and loving just because it is the right thing and not for the prize of eternity.

Leave a Reply

