DAY 1: It’s Not About You

“Unless you assume a God, the question of life’s purpose is meaningless”.  -Bertrand Russell, Atheist

 In this world where youth admits their lack of faith and where religion is becoming increasingly irrelevant, what a refreshing thought— It All Starts with God.

 So the question follows—What relationship do we have with God?  Do we think him brooding, aloof, distant? Or is it you & God, deep in your inside world?  I ask myself and ultimately pick up the veil that separates me from God & from myself.  

My revelation is immediate.  Harder still for those agonizing in human suffering, the boy soldiers in Cambodia, for those who saw their people slaughtered in the Rwanda Genocides, or the innocent dieing daily in Afghanistan.

 Couldn’t such a revelation strike the mind of a powerful man as President Obama?  Then war would simply…stop.

 Warren’s highlight for this day:  Focusing on ourselves will never reveal life’s purpose.  I like his example of an invention never seen before, thus you wouldn’t know its purpose and the invention itself wouldn’t be able to tell you.  The easiest way to discover the purpose of the invention is to ask the creator of it.

 Warren: “Life is about letting God use you for his purposes, not using God for your own self actualization”.  The revelation about the meaning & purpose of life is best seen through the eyes of an atheist.  Warren gives us the example of Andrei Bitov, who grew up under an Atheist Communist regime.   “..while riding the metro in Leningrad, I was overcome w/a despair so great that life seemed to stop at once, preempting the future entirely, let alone any meaning.  Suddenly, all by itself, a phrase appeared:  Without God life makes no sense.  Repeating it in astonishment, I rode the phrase like a moving staircase, got out of the metro & walked into God’s light.”

I hope we all experience the sense of energy & joy that comes from discovering what God put us on this planet to do.

 Let’s consider Warren’s Question on Day 1:

In what ways can I remind myself that life is really about living for God, not myself?   and for those of us with children:  In what ways can we show them?

Perhaps Uwem Akpan, author of “Say You’re One of Them” can gives us insight.  When asked what drew him to the Jesuit order, he answered:  “..it was the spirituality, striving to see God in everything”.

Thanks for joining us,

Grace 

 * Weekly we will be writing about what inspires us from each consecutive chapter of Warren’s Purpose Driven Life.  If you read along with us, plse share your inspirations.  There’s no need to catch up, just jump right in. 

 

About blueprintforliving

A born & bred New Yorker living on the other side of the Atlantic since '92. Once you live in a much smaller country you realise everything is precious,take nothing for granted,and you gain a global view which you would never have if you had stayed in the US.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DAY 1: It’s Not About You

  1. debbieh says:

    Grace, thanks for starting this. Look forward to this spiritual journey. This book will be a challenge for me – I have never once questioned or thought about my purpose in life. Maybe I don’t look at the question the right way? I have many other questions and thoughts about life and God. Read the 1st chapter 2x in order to truly grasp the idea. Regarding the question in ch. 1 – our kindness, respect and tolerance towards others and ourselves is how we live everyday for God. The spiritual revelations we encounter I believe bring us closer to understanding life and God and maybe a purpose. Always wanted to read the Bible but also believe it is subject to many different interpretations. . The point to ponder –it is not about me –but I believe about humanity – we are all responsible for each other but get so caught up in our daily activities. I know I do!!!

Leave a Reply

